October 12, 2013

The Inheritance (Part 1) by Olivia Mayfield

The Inheritance (Part 1) by Olivia Mayfield
Release Date: October 15, 2013
Publisher: Berkley InterMix
Pages: 60
Series: The Inheritance
Review Source: Netgalley

Synopsis: (from Goodreads)
Maggie Willings knew that returning home for her estranged grandfather’s funeral would not be easy, but she never expected the reading of his will to be the most difficult part. The four people named in the will—Maggie, her brother Robert, her ex-boyfriend Andrew, and her grandfather’s far-too-young girlfriend Bethany—are given a challenge: find out the truth about what happened to Maggie’s younger sister Cassandra, who vanished over eight years ago, and win the entirety of the estate.

Maggie is thrown by the strange request, reluctant to drag up painful memories of her sister’s disappearance, and bothered by her lingering attraction to Andrew, who wants to team up to solve the mystery. But there are ten million dollars on the line and Maggie has no idea where to start—or who she’ll be able to trust.
My Thoughts:
It’s a fact that I’m not generally a fan of serial stories, simply because I hate waiting for more of a book. But the plot of this one sounded too delicious to pass up, and while I am now stuck waiting even longer for more installments, I’m glad I decided to begin reading this one.

Right from the beginning this story had me at the edge of my seat. The whole idea of having a huge inheritance on the line was a big part of that, but it was also just reading about Maggie’s intense emotions as she begins to look into the 8-year-old disappearance of her sister.

There’s something exciting about stories where you don't know who to trust, and so far pretty much every character has something sketchy enough about them that they can’t be fully trusted. Between present behaviour and allusions to the past, it’s difficult to see who Maggie can safely turn to for help.

Olivia Mayfield has woven a great beginning to a mystery novel with The Inheritance (Part 1), and I am excited to see where the story goes next.

The Cover:


Add The Inheritance (Part 1) by Olivia Mayfield on Goodreads. Buy it on Amazon or Barnes & Noble.

The Inheritance is a 6-part mystery romance, with one installment released each week from October 15 to November 19. You can find more details for the series on Olivia Mayfield's website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment; I appreciate each one!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...